06
Mar
11

WTF?! Smart charged me one peso for each Facebook SMS notification I received!

I’ve been an avid supporter and subscriber of Smart Communications, Inc. I own a postpaid plan since 2007, and I’m currently subscribed to their Plan 999 Smart Bro internet for almost three years now. I also own a Smart Plug-it portable internet (I’m using it right now).

I find their service satisfactory, with a relatively fast customer service and affordable plans.

Things were going quite well until I made a terrible mistake: I subscribed to Facebook SMS notifications using my Smart Gold postpaid number early January this year.

I thought it was harmless due to the disclaimer written on FB’s account settings:

“Facebook does not charge for this service. However, SMART’s normal text messaging rates still apply.” The way I understood this, Smart will charge you one peso only if you replied to a text notification.

Also, I used to receive my FB notifs thru my Globe Prepaid number and I wasn’t charged a single centavo for it.

Imagine the horror when I got my February bill – I was charged 1400 pesos for “3404 subscription charges” for January and 1900 pesos “3404 subscription charges” for February. That totally blew my mind! Smart Communications just milked me a total of 3300 pesos from my Jan and Feb bills!

Still shaking with confusion and anger, I called up the *888 and questioned my skyrocketing bills.  I also told him that I didn’t reply to any of those text notifs, so why am I being charged?  The customer agent told me that a technical support person will get in touch with me soon to clear the matter. An soon enough, somebody did call me. An otherwise cocky female tech support called and told me that those text notifications from FB are billable by SMART, because other networks do it, too. OTHER NETWORKS?? I simply told her that as I have confirmed with my friends who are currently subscribed to FB text notifs using their Globe and Sun Cellular numbers, they weren’t charged a single centavo for all the text notifications that they received. So who is she to tell me that “other networks do it, too?” Cocky, lying b*tch!

So she told me that they will call the “provider” to confirm whether or not these FB text notifications sent are billable and will get in touch with me after. I sure wished she won’t call anymore because her arrogant tone pissed me off even more.

The next day, and to my dismay, that same cocky voice was on the other end of my phoneline again. And as expected, brought ill-news. She confirmed that the 3404 subscription is billable. So I simply dismissed the conversation with a “yeah, alright, whatever” because it was clearly a lost cause.

I’m so disappointed in Smart.  This is the first time they did this to me. I don’t even know if any other person have this experience because as far as I’ve posted in several sites and googled for related posts, I don’t see any other relevant results or similar cases. I feel like I’m the only victim!

I really feel cheated and robbed. I hope somebody could help me out on this. 3300 pesos is not easy to earn… 😦

5 Responses to “WTF?! Smart charged me one peso for each Facebook SMS notification I received!”


  1. 1 Lence Excel
    May 14, 2011 at 5:22 pm

    Hi! Got the same experience as yours but im using Globe Network, the site says that Notifications received from FaceBook are free but i don’t believe it because when i received my billing statement it doubles my usual bill amount. as of this very moment, i just terminated my fb notifications with them eventhough they say its free.

  2. June 27, 2013 at 6:29 am

    I visit everyday some sites and sites to
    read articles, however this web site presents feature
    based posts.

  3. July 14, 2013 at 5:05 am

    I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make this website yourself or
    did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. cheers

  4. 4 Michael Cepedoza
    February 12, 2015 at 5:27 pm

    I did not recieved a reply message from 3404, I want to activate facebook sms notification but how should I do?

  5. 5 Michael Cepedoza
    February 12, 2015 at 5:30 pm

    I’m using smart, too!


Leave a Reply

